Daily Archives: May 10, 2011

Spring has arrived!

Looks like spring has finally arrived in Burlington… now let’s see how long it lasts…

Last year at this time there was still snow on the ground!

Today was such a busy day! I woke up at 5:50 for my 7:30am final, got ready, crammed for a while and then finally went to go take it. It wasn’t horrible, but not great either. I prepared as well as I could, but there were a few surprises. I think I’ll end up with a B/B+, which I’m not happy about but it won’t count towards my Psychology G.P.A. which is what will matter the most when I’m applying for grad school.

Afterwards I went to the library and said that I wasn’t going to leave until I got my 8-10 page paper done. I got up to 8 pages, checked the assignment and it said 6-8 pages. Sweet!

I was going to go into the lab this afternoon because I needed to do something, but decided I needed to de-stress at the gym before I did anything else. I will have to go into the lab in a little bit, but definitely worth putting off.

I did my first speedwork workout!! I did 3.75 miles in 34:14.

Here’s the workout – I got it from Carrots n’ Cake as I mentioned yesterday

  • Warmup .50  at 6.3 (9:30/mile pace)
  • .25 at 7.1
  • .25 at 6.3
  • .25 at 7.2
  • .25 at 6.3
  • .25 at 7.3
  • .25 at 6.3
  • .25 at 7.4
  • .25 at 6.3
  • .25 at 7.5
  • .25 at 6.3
  • .25 at 7.6 (7:53/mile pace!!)
  • .50 at 6.3 (9:30/mile pace)

I actually hate the treadmill and this workout flew by. Not that it wasn’t challenging (it was), but changing the speed every quarter mile made it go by pretty fast. I stopped to walk for about 1/10 of a mile to grab water and catch my breath. I was tempted to walk the last 1/2 mile but powered through!

On the agenda for tonight is a little bit of studying, AL’S for dinner (yummm), and maybe a movie? I think I deserve a little relaxation after banging out an 8 page paper!

My posts have been pretty picture-less, but mainly because this isn’t a food blog, so I won’t post pictures of my meals. If I happen to create an awesome meal or bake something pretty, I’ll post it. I do want to post more pictures though, once I have more free time, I’ll take some! I’ll leave you with a picture of something spring-y in the meantime!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

ABC’s of me!

I’ve seen this on other blogs, and thought it would be a fun way to describe who I am!

A. Age: 21

B. Bed size: In my apartment at school, queen. At home, twin.

C. Chore you dislike: Emptying the dishwasher.

D. Dogs: None – I want a husky!

E. Essential start to your day: Brushing my teeth and breakfast

F. Favorite color:  Green, but I’ve also been into purple recently.

G. Gold or silver:  Silver. I really don’t like gold for some reason.

H. Height:  5 foot, 5 inches.

I. Instruments you play(ed):  Piano for two years, until I had a mean teacher and refused to go back (I was eight). Does the recorder in music class count? 🙂

J. Job title:  Student, research assistant, nanny – jack of all trades!

K. Kids: None

L. Live:  Currently I go to school and live in Burlington, VT. I’m from a small town right outside of Boston and spend as much time there as I can!

M. Mom’s name:  Mary Ann

N. Nicknames: Bri

O. Overnight hospital stays:  None – knock on wood!

P. Pet peeves:  People talking in the library, long lines, spitting, and when people walk reaaally slow.

Q. Quote from a movie: “Eli: Okay, you know what the three of us are? We’re a tripod.
Klitz: A tripod?
Eli: Yes, a tripod. Which means that if you knock out one of our legs, WE-ALL-FALL!

R. Righty or lefty:  Righty

S. Siblings:  Two – Stephen, 15 and Lizzie, 17

T. Time you wake up:  Depends. This past semester I got up at 5:30 every day for the research project I work for. Weekends between 8-9. Usually no later than 8 on weekdays

U. Underwear:  Yes?

V. Vegetables you dont’ like:  Sweet potato. I tried REALLY hard though. I’m also not a huge fan of steamed vegetables.

W. What makes you run late:  I usually forget something and have to run back to get it. I also have a habit of forgetting to put my key back on the key chain after taking it to go running… I usually also forget where I put it down.

X. X-rays you’ve had:  None. I’ve had mouth x-rays at the dentist for my wisdom teeth and for a root canal once.

Y. Yummy food you make:  I make a mean lemon tart 😉 I also make yummy homemade pizza!

Z. Zoo animal favorites:  I haven’t been to the zoo since second grade. I’m really not sure – probably giraffes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized